

5 YEARS OF YIA

14 INNOVATION PIONEERS

BROUGHT INTO THE BAY

Sir Paul Callaghan. Sir Ray Avery. Mark Pennington. David Darling. Rob Heebink. Steve Saunders. Tony Hadfield. Ed Burak. John Gertsakis. Rob Ford. Siobhan Bulfin. Trent Mankelow. Robbie van Dam. Dr Stewart Collie.

27 SCHOOL VISITS THOUSANDS OF STUDENTS

Aquinas College. Bethlehem College. Katikati College. Mt Maunganui College. Otumoetai College. Papamoa College. Tauranga Boys College. Tauranga Girls College. Te Puke High School. Te Wharekura o Mauao. Bay of Plenty Polytech.

90 TEACHERS

J Livingstone. P Nicholson. J Lubbe. P Nixon. M Kindley. G Rice. A Braithwaite. M Ballard. K Meyer. A Crawford. P Furneaux. C Norquay. M Thomas. M Lomas. M Wright. A Stensness. K Hopping. T Atkins. A Leech. A Corney. P Hewes. A Wilson. T Lewis-Rickard. R Gover. C Fackney. K Adinall. J Burns. M Maloney.

OVER 750 ENTRANTS 60 FINALISTS

Ashleigh McCaull. Austen Tweed. Bayley Bacica. Finn Crawford. Connor Lyttle. Jayden Tod. Bianca Pilkington. Keisha Cameron. Brianna Stanley. Briar McFetridge. Bridget Clarke. Caleb Ibbotson. Jason Aitken. Connor Douglas. Antonio Ioata. Cameron Slade. Courtney Watson. Daniel Corteza. David Dobbie. Deon Cromb. Jarrod Reed. Alex Scott. Eden Cowbourne. Elijah Taula. Dylan Morris. Ethan Speidell. Eva Wilson. Fletcher Swan. Hannah Meyer. Hannah Philpot. Heather Robilliard. Hope McElhinney. Serena Sattler. Isaac Coggan, Jack Ellis, Jackson Sale, James Hunt, James Hwang, James Oliver, Jess Dudson. Jessica Corkery. Julia Kayes. Karl Biddle. Finn Russell. Levi Tyson. Karla Clarke. Kate Lawrence. Memphis Lun. Kaylan Gill. Kelsey Morris. Kimberley Cleland. Kodi Murray. Lily Speidell. Logan Davy. Carson Luke. Mack Petrie. Maia Lenihan. Libby Moore. Mandeep Kaur. Morgan Heslop. Megan O'Grady. Olivia Edith Johnson. Peter Cheal. Phill Dromgool. Quintin Pidduck. Ra Neilsford-Jones. Richard Lewis. Rosie Sussex. Carrie Atkinson. Gemma Tims. Ryan Anderson. Sarah Buet. Sinead Robinson. Toscana Bernie. Tristan Balme. Zoe D'Ath. Zoe Windner.

13 TOP AWARDS

Aidan Winch. Akasha Warner- Mason. Alex Hart. Briana Osborne. Brigette Horgan. Caitlyn Donaghy. Marnie Hunter. Arianna laccarino. Cassie Chapman. Roos van Gorp. Katelyn Wallbank. Charles Leota. Clementine Davis. Devon Campny. Josh Bruderer. Nick Ross. Ella Duggan. Emily McCarthy. Emma Kay. Freedom Holloway. Glen Storey. Monique Storey. Harry Dobbs. Hayden Christie. Lachlan Farron. Frano Gabric. Hayley Butler. Mikkayla Leckie. Jonathon Kent. Kimberly D'Mello. Lewis Thorp. Lucy Beaton. Blake Fairweather. Emily Farron. Annie Freeman. Jess Gadsbey. Maraea Ranui. Matthew Harvey. Connor Hayes. Melanie Duff. Monique van Loon. Olivia Johnson. Phil Hewes. Reynar Hodge. Rory Malone. Samuel Boggiss. Savana Woodcock. Shanae Richardson. Anna Swanney. Sophie Ellis. Stanton Kindley. Louis Yarrell-Kemp. Tara Parsons. Tessa Livingston-Pooley. Tylar Blaymires. William McCallum. George Wilkins. Zac Nicholson.

OVER 3,000 VOTES FOR THE PEOPLE'S CHOICE AWARD

Winners: Melanie Duff. Freedom Holloway. Lucy Beaton. Blake Fairweather. Emily Farron. Annie Freeman. Jess Gadsbey.

INTERNED 2 BRIGHT YOUNG INNOVATORS

Samuel Boggis. Harry Dobbs.

1,200 HOURS OF DESIGN AND INNOVATION EFFORT

Timothy Allan. Reuben Woods. Duncan Mackenzie. Stephen Finnigan. Jono Jones. Robin Lyttle. Pearl Murray. Kat Sutherland. Simon Crane. Rogier Simons. Luke Thompson. Dan Pennefather. Bristol Dunlap. Blythe Rees-Jones. Michelle Harper.

At the outset the Young Innovator Awards (YIA) was a regional programme established by Priority One's Instep Programme to assist secondary schools help put innovation into their curriculum. It has now become something that has defined our region as an innovator.

At the start of 2012 the program underwent a major reset. Locus Research and Woods Creative, two regional design companies, worked with Priority One to forge a partnership that helped to create a strategy to develop the fledgling programme into one of national significance.

We set a 24 month vision to grow the quality and quantity of entries, to implement a new under 40s category, and to create an Innovation Forum that leveraged off the YIA programme to bring talented New Zealanders into our region to tell their personal stories.

Locus and Woods over the last two years have held over 27 school visits and presentations to thousands of students, 3 significant teacher workshops involving 90 teachers, convened the judging of over 500 entries to deliver 13 top awards, celebrated the stories of 14 innovation pioneers and interned 2 of the best young innovators in the regional school system. We have put yellow t-shirts on everyone from the Prime Minister to Sir Paul Callaghan and seen them travel from New York to Japan, Rarotonga to London.

Our two companies have delivered over 1,200 hours into the community as part of our ongoing support. This created websites, videos, presentations, entry templates, awards, exhibitions, and trophies, and embodied design thinking, product design, spatial, graphic, and brand design within the competition at every level.

We have more than doubled entries and created a national innovation event that brings together some of the best and brightest shining a light on our region and the talent that resides here.

We have helped young students in our region visualise what a creative career looks like and have inspired them to make a career choice.

And perhaps most importantly, we have made yellow the new black.

